Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Archive for November 22nd, 2008

MAMA, I MADE A NEW FRIEND TODAY!

Posted by hashiki on November 22, 2008

I had the most delightful conversation with someone today.  She is one of my classmates from the seminary.  We have clicked well since we first met last year at the school, but today was the first time we had a real good (and long) phone conversation.  We have a lot in common and it was really nice to just make that connection.

We both realized and admitted that we are like strangers here in Mississippi.  Or, “outsiders”, as I noted.  She understood completely.  She’s been here for 10 years and she is still trying to find her niche, she said.  As I stated in my last blog, “Are We There Yet“, so am I, after being here for three years now since Katrina.  We are both still trying to adjust to this new way of life.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Just Plain Life! | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »