Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

MAMA, I MADE A NEW FRIEND TODAY!

Posted by hashiki on November 22, 2008

I had the most delightful conversation with someone today.  She is one of my classmates from the seminary.  We have clicked well since we first met last year at the school, but today was the first time we had a real good (and long) phone conversation.  We have a lot in common and it was really nice to just make that connection.

We both realized and admitted that we are like strangers here in Mississippi.  Or, “outsiders”, as I noted.  She understood completely.  She’s been here for 10 years and she is still trying to find her niche, she said.  As I stated in my last blog, “Are We There Yet“, so am I, after being here for three years now since Katrina.  We are both still trying to adjust to this new way of life.

Although we talked a lot about the things we miss about the “city” and city living, we learned something about each other.  Both of us said that we have no real friends here.  I mentioned this as well in my last blog.  I lamented that I have no family here and I feel quite alone.  It’s basically the same for my classmate. 

I’ve never been one to have a lot of friends.  I’ve always known a lot of people, but never had many close friends.  My good friend, Angeline, is back in New Orleans.  I miss her so much!  We stay in contact thanks to email and of course phone calls.  But, it’s different.  We definitely do not have those quick conversations daily, nor are we able to have the occasional lunch together.  Yep, I miss my friend.

My classmate and I agreed that we will do things together like lunch, or whatever.  We are looking forward to this, as our classes will come to an end for this semester in a couple of weeks.

None of this may not seem like a big deal to others, but I’m sharing it because in the time that my classmate and I took to really talk to each other, we noted one more thing.  You never know what a little thoughtfulness means to others, nor how important it is to take a little time just to get to know someone.  You just don’t know – you might be a blessing to them.  But, in this life, too often we are so busy with the hustle and bustle that we go on with seeing just about ourselves.

Our conversation revealed that she and I both needed to talk.  Our hour-long conversation ended up being something that we both needed.  I was blessed by what she had to say, and vice versa.

I’ve been a loner for most of my life.  I am happy with just being to myself.  I have never been bored not one day in my life because I always have my thoughts, my books, my pen & paper, and of course the ability to write, write, write.  Outside of being blessed with my great husband, it is an awful feeling when you realize that you don’t have anyone else that you can turn to as a real friend.  It’s somewhat lonely for me because I know so many people and I am often the one whom they turn to for support and encouragement.  I don’t mind that because it is something that I know I was born to do.  However, the loneliness comes when I don’t have the same when I need it.

So, I’m happy in discovering that there is someone out there, with so much in common, who was in need of the same.

Again, I encourage you to reach out to people.  You never know whom you may bless!

Carla

Leave a Reply

 
