Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Archive for December 23rd, 2008

ARE YOU REALLY FREE?

Posted by hashiki on December 23, 2008

"Battle" Champion Sherral Kayey of the Women of Success Toastmasters
“Battle” Champion Sherral Kahey of the Women of Success Toastmasters

I have a confession to make.  Way back in the day, back when I was a teenager, I once had a pen pal who was an inmate in some prison.  If you’re reading my blog, you probably remember what a pen pal was.  In fact, you probably  had pen pals yourself.  And some of you may  have even connected with inmates as well.

For me, I used to read, read, read.  Loved reading books and magazines.  I always thought that I would indeed end up writing for a magazine.  At least, I wanted to.  I’ve been dreaming of being a contributor for Essence magazine for as long as I can remember.  Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in faith, I'm Just Sayin' | Tagged: , , | 2 Comments »

MOVIE REVIEW: SEVEN POUNDS

Posted by hashiki on December 23, 2008

Will Smith in Seven Pounds

Will Smith in Seven Pounds

I had the pleasure of watching the new Will Smith movie, Seven Pounds, this past weekend.  To read a full synopsis & more on the movie, click here.  It is my desire to share my insight and not to reveal the movie’s content.  Mostly because for me, personally, to read so much about a movie before seeing it for myself spoils it.  So keep that in mind before you go to the site I’ve given you in the above link.

I usually do not read or watch reviews before watching a movie.  Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in I'm Just Sayin', Just Plain Life!, Reviews | 3 Comments »