Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Working Together For Your Good

Posted by hashiki on January 15, 2009

Just like John 3:16, I believe that most people (well many) can rattle off to you from the top of their heads Romans 8:28.   Don’t feel bad if you can’t, just open the link and read.  You’ll say, “oh yeah, I know those words”.  Many times we speak them and read them, and they are just words to us.  Good words.  Encouraging words.  We even speak them, particularly Romans 8:28, as an affirmation and a statement of faith, when we are facing uncertain and trying times.

Today, I am rejoicing at a divine realization and ephiphany that God has made clear to me regarding Romans 8:28 in my life. 

Here are a few examples of things working for good in my life –

  • Last month a string of storms blew through our area.  Tornadoes slammed into some areas.  We believe that one hit us too, but it was not registered as one officially.  We simply saw the evidence that a tornado blew through my neighborhood.  One being a large tree being UPROOTED in my backyard.  There are many trees in the yard, but only one was uprooted.  There was no other damage to anything else, thank God.  Well, this week, we are being blasted with an artic blast of cold air.  In fact, our area is under a hard freeze status until Saturday.  It has been so cold, and the temperatures are expected to drop terribly tonight and tomorrow (Friday).  We have been skimping on running heat in the house because we are not able to purchase the gas to warm the house.  It is so expensive and we simply do not have the money to buy the minimum of 75 gallons for our gas tank.  To run the heating system would burn the fuel that we do have and need for hot water for showers, laundry, etc.  Well, that uprooted tree is lying in the back yard, and we have a beautiful fireplace.  Through that storm, God provided the resource we needed to warm our house.  It’s a large tree, and it’s toppled.  We would not have otherwise been able to chop the tree down, so God uprooted it through the storm!  We have been able to saw logs off to place in the fireplace.  And guess what?  The warmth from this fireplace is more and better than that of the heating system in the house.  Romans 8:28!

 

  • The electric bill was pretty high last month.  It was a struggle, but God allowed us to pay it.  Actually, we left a balance of $27.00 on it, as we just didn’t have it (entire bill was $327.00).  Well, this month we get the new bill.  I don’t know why, I don’t know how, but there was about a $100 CREDIT on the bill!  This month’s bill is only $45.00.  Romans 8:28

 

  • I wrote about the bill collector who enraged me so much just the other day that I ended up with chest pains and an escalated blood pressure.  I am still not proud that I got so angry.  I’m here to tell you today that God has worked it out where the bill has been lifted bringing some relief for now.   I can’t or won’t go into details, but know that God is faithful and true to His Word.  Romans 8:28

His scripture is not simply words printed in a book.  God’s Word is life and truth.  And I am open and transparent, sharing what you would say is my business simply because I know that my experience will offer encouragement and hope to others.  I also know that many people can relate, although they may never say it.

My point with this post today is to encourage you to look at the things that happen in your life.  They may not be pleasant.  There may be struggle.  There may be even embarassment (Lord knows I am embarassed – but I share the truth).  Look at those things and realize that God will work those things out, for your good.  You may wonder what good will come out of your circumstance.  I don’t know, but God knows.  As long as He knows, that’s all that matters.  Just trust Him and allow Him to move and work in your life and on your behalf.

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God,

to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  ~Romans 8:28

 

Blessings!

Carla Y. Nix

Leave a Reply

 
