Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

The Tearful Eyes of Bernice

Posted by hashiki on January 6, 2009

As we approach Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. day, I would like to share a poem I wrote last year in commemoration. 

THE TEARFUL EYES OF BERNICE

Coretta Scott King & daughter Bernice at the funeral of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Coretta Scott King & daughter Bernice at the funeral of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

 

 

 

 By Carla Y. Nix

 

The tearful eyes of Bernice

Made me cry and also grieve

As one little girl watched another little girl

Mourn before the whole wide world.

 

That picture remains in my mind today

I can’t believe that 40 years have passed away.

I still feel the powerful grip of grief;

Still feeling sad for Bernice.

 

That poor little girl had to say goodbye

While on her mother’s lap she lie

A woman of pure grace and strength

Coretta, without Martin, her precious King.

 

I think often of the great impact he made

I am so thankful for the trail he paved.

And I know that it was only God that gifted King so

In order for this world, and our people, to grow.

 

I can’t imagine what our lives would have been

If it had not been for Dr. Martin Luther King.

Yet I wonder if my own people will ever appreciate;

I wonder why we are filled with so much hate.

 

Now grown, this little girl will never forget

The picture, she first saw in Jet

Of MLK’s little girl – his progeny

Those tearful eyes of Bernice.

 

© January 2008

Leave a Reply

 
