Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

THERE’S A PURPOSE FOR EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE

Posted by hashiki on December 2, 2008

fall-of-autumn-leaves-wallpaperI am not a cold weather person.  I truly, truly, most definitely detest the cold and dreary atmosphere of Winter.  I don’t normally enjoy Autumn either.  However, I do love the beautiful vibrant natural colors that we see on the leaves on trees, and on the ground.

My personality is such that I am pretty much an extremist. Up or down. Hot or cold. Either I am, or I’m not. Happy or sad. Honestly, there isn’t much in-between with me.  Not usually, at least.  So I am with the weather.  I love Summer time.  I don’t like Winter. The reason I like Spring is the fact that things seem to awake and come back to life after the doldrum of Winter.  Now Autumn, which it is the season we’re in now, never really resonated with me other than I was born in October.  It was pretty much the only thing I appreciated about this off-season. 

That’s changed.  I have a more practical understanding of the purpose of Autumn and have gained a newfound appreciation.  An otherwise insignificant season, in my mind, now relates to my own life.  And yes, once upon a time, I felt that my life was insignificant.  Just like Autumn, I found no particular reason for my existence, nor my purpose.

No longer is that the case.  Autumn is a transitional time for the earth.  In reading about the reason leaves change in color, I was reminded that Autumn prepares God’s creations for the harshness of Winter. 

I am God’s creation.  You are God’s creation.  We should learn to embrace Autumn in our lives.  As Mama used to say, just “keep on living!”, the harshness of Winter will eventually touch our lives.

Autumn draws from the sustenance that was created during the Spring and Summer.  It prepares the creation for the time when growth, nurturing, and vitality will shut down (Winter).  It stores up everything that was built and planted (preparation).  It assures that the creation will be able to survive through the Winter (trials and tribulations)

The leaves lose something during this time because the daylight and available water is in shorter availability (sometimes you have to walk alone – friends & family may leave you).  Because of this, now the leaves must live off of the food it stored from Spring and Summer (it’s smart to have a reserve – pull from all of those life lessons you’ve learned – now is the test).  The leaves lose chlorophyll in Autumn, which gives them their green color.  However, now you begin to see the other gorgeous earthen colors – reds, browns, golds, orange.  Thing is, these colors were always present, they were just covered by the green (God has already planted everything that you need inside.  Your strength, your faith, your wisdom, etc., was always present).  Leaves may fall from the trees (sometimes we should shed dead weight), but God always provides! 

God has never done anything accidentally.  The season of Autumn was created for a purpose.  There is nothing insignificant about this time of life.  It serves a great purpose.

Your life is not happenstance.  God had your purpose in mind even before He created you.  In the mind of God, you have always existed.  God does nothing without reason.  Learn to love who you are.  Love the person that God made you to be.  Look at all of the experiences you’ve gone through as necessary, calculated, pieces to the whole of your life.  Envision a patchwork quilt, or a puzzle.  Every piece adds to the entirety of the project.  Each piece makes the quilt, or puzzle, what it is.  Without even one piece, the work would not be complete.

Never forget that there is a purpose for everything, and everyone!  You are a great piece of work!

Blessings,

Carla Y. Nix

6 Responses to “THERE’S A PURPOSE FOR EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE”

  1. rushay said

    i am trying so hard to believe that there is a reason and purpose for everything but at the moment its real hard im hoping for the best but the caving walls feels to heavy at times

  2. hashiki said

    Rushay – Not only HOPE for the best, but BELIEVE for the best. Trust me, I understand that caving walls feeling. I still experience challenges, but God has consistently carried me through everything.

    Feel free to email me if you’d like to talk. carlanix1@aol.com I don’t mind lending an ear or a shoulder.

    Carla

  3. Love this post!
    Reminds me of the passage in Jeremiah 29:11-13

    “For I know the plans I have for you,”declares the LORD,”Plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me. And I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

    Blessings,
    Amber Vlangas
    Everyday Christian Mom
    Join me on the Everyday Christian Moms Social Network!

  4. Carla —

    What a FANTASTIC post! I can’t wait to tweet you and ask if I can use it in my next newsletter! : )

    I love the analogies and images you used to remind us of our Divine Purpose in ANY season of our lives! : )

    You are such a blessing to me and to the world! : )

    Blessings of Infinite Love & Gratitude!

    Stephanie Bell the Spirit Coach
    http://PassionatelyPOSITIVE.com

  5. Andrea said

    Beautiful post Carla!

    To say the least, I have lived a very full and colorful life thus far and have NO regrets! I have fully accepted and believe that everything happens for a reason, I need not know the reason, and without each and every single one of my life experiences/lessons I would not be the person I am today – a person I happen to love and admire!

    Always Grateful,
    Andrea

  6. Patricia S said

    Great article and so true! When we are doing what we are sent here to do, life just flows!

Leave a Reply

 
