Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

STIR UP THE GIFT!

Posted by hashiki on November 29, 2008

“A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men.” Proverbs 18:16 KJV

“If you are intelligent but are not exercising your gift, you’re probably going to be poor. If you’re educated but have not developed your talent, you’re likely going to be depressed, frustrated, and tired.” ~ Dr. Myles Monroe

I can remember as far back as 28 years ago, my pastor would often say to me, “Your gift will make room for you.” At that young age of 17, I did not know what gift he was talking about (I didn’t know what my gift was), nor did I know how it would make room for me. All in all, I had absolutely no idea what Pastor Washington was talking about.

Years went by, and Pastor Washington would still come to me and say, “Carla, your gift will make room for you.” He would encourage me to “stir up my gift(s)” and use it/them to the honor and glory of God.

I was still clueless.

It wasn’t until I was 35 years old that I began to acknowledge that I even had gifts. It was around that time that I began to change my syntax as I spoke about myself. It was then that I realized that God had given me the gift and love of writing. I stopped saying, “Oh, writing is my hobby”, or “I like poetry”, or “I don’t mind writing”. Those statements were restrictive, incomplete, and only scratched the surface of who I am. Not only that, but those terms did not give justice to God or recognize who He was in my life. They limited God, and me! My language changed to verbalize terms such as, “I am a writer!” I now exclaim, “God has blessed me to write!”, and “I am a poet!”  Writing is NOT a hobby.  I write even in my sleep! I write! I am a writer!

After becoming true to myself, God began to pour into me more of who I was. It became clear to me, eventually, that writing is just one aspect of the gift that God has given me. Everything began to come together in my mind of what I am, who I am, and what I am supposed to be doing in my life. In one word, it would be a “communicator”. God has instilled various gifts within me to fulfill that overall gift. Writing is just one tool. To my new syntax (language), at my present age of 45*, I can now say that I am a writer, poet, teacher, trainer, speaker, author, director, artist, photographer, etc. I don’t think that God has completed my list yet.

The New International Version translation of Proverbs 18:16 says, “A gift opens the way for the giver and ushers him into the presence of the great.” No longer am I confused by Pastor Washington’s encouragement to me. That’s what it was, encouragement. He was telling me to use, utilize, love, and live by the gifts that God has given me. When we live as we are designed to be, using those gifts that are in us, then the way will be opened for us. Doors will open for us and we will go before greatness. I have begun to live this truth in my own life.

I encourage you this day to stir up your gifts – use the gifts that God has given you. Otherwise, you will not be happy. Oh, I’m willing to say boldly and confidently, without any doubt, that if you are not exercising your gifts (as Dr. Myles Monroe says), then you are not experiencing true joy. I know that for a fact. You feel incomplete. There’s a huge void in your life. You are searching and you feel that there is no direction in your life. You are just floating! That will continue to happen as long as you do not recognize and acknowledge your gifts. You will not be comfortable and you will always feel out of sorts. Please, take an inventory of yourself and learn who you are and what you are. Pray and ask God to reveal to you what He would have you to do in this world. We were all created with a purpose and when you are not in tune or in line with yours, you will not enjoy true life. You will only exist, and not live. My motto for my company Passion4Life is, “Life should lived and not endured”.

Stir up your gift, and watch the doors open for you!

Be blessed!

Carla Y. Nix

(c) 2007 – All rights reserved by author

Suggested Reading – Dr. Myles Monroe website – http://www.bfmmm.com/

*I am now 47 years old

2 Responses to “STIR UP THE GIFT!”

  1. […] Read the rest of this superb post right here […]

  2. daphne said

    Carla – this is an encouraging word! An a truth for sure.

    Daphne

Leave a Reply

 
