Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

NO REGRETS

Posted by hashiki on November 25, 2008

Yesterday, Jerry and I went to the hospital to visit a dear and close friend of his family.  I do ask everyone who’s reading to keep the Jones family in your prayers as their mother is pretty ill right now.  She is in ICU and is non-responsive, battling a number of issues.  Although she didn’t know that we were there, we stood with one of her sons and prayed.  The family does need God’s strength.  It is not easy watching your mother (or grandmother, & great-grandmother in this case) being so ill.

We are trusting God for His perfect will, for we know that regardless of what is said, or how things may appear, God is the final authority.  We believe in His power, and in divine healing.

As difficult as it was yesterday, there was something that made both Jerry and I smile.  As we were entering the hospital, we saw two different new mothers going home with their newborn babies.  We watched as the nurses and their families loaded them into their cars.  It made us smile, quite lovingly, as we could not help but remember us 23, 21, and 11 years ago.  We remembered the joy of bringing home our new blessings.  We remembered the dreams and hopes that we cradled in our arms.  We remembered praying that God would allow us to travel home safely, bringing our futures home.

We couldn’t help but remember who we were back then.  We have gone through so much since bringing home our first baby, our only son, 23 years ago.  With each new child, we became different people.  Today, it is very clear that we are not the same blushing and fearful couple we were when we were in the position of the new families we saw yesterday.

But, it’s okay.  That’s not a bad thing.  It’s all good, as they say.

We’ve been blessed in spite of ourselves.  We’ve made many mistakes along the way, took wrong turns, and defied the authority of God in our lives.  As a result, we have paid the price.  We’ve known suffering because of our wrong doings.  However, on the other hand, we are so thankful for the opportunities we’ve had.  We rejoice over the blessings, and the unmerited favor (GRACE) that God has showered us with.  Even with the mistakes and the penalty of our actions, we would not trade the lives we’ve been given for anything.  We regret some things, but we don’t regret what God has brought out of everything. 

So, as we went upstairs to visit Mrs.  Jones, our smiling faces turned sober as we watched the unresponsive body of a woman who was once incredibly vital and fiesty.  Yet, I personally could not help but thank God for her life.  I don’t know what God’s will is right now for her.  I do know how much of a blessing He allowed her to be to so many.  Her life is a testament of good living, a strong woman, a woman who always made you smile.  I know that she has brought so much more to many others.  So, for that, I could not feel sorry.  I was sad, but I know that she’s done what we are all supposed to do.  That is to live a life where you have no regrets.  To spend a life being a blessing to others.

All of those hopes and dreams Jerry and I shared when we brought our babies home have not disappeared.  It would be a wasted life if we never acted upon our hopes or brought our dreams to fruition.  No one knows what the future holds.  We don’t know when, or if, we too will find ourselves, unfortunately, in a state where we can no longer respond.  The tragedy in that would be if we never fulfilled and walked in our purpose in life.

This is just another reminder for me to answer my calling, and to perform the assignments that God has placed before me.  I am responsible for what I do, or don’t do, with what He gives me.  I want to hear Him say one day, “well done thy good and faithful servant!”, keeping in mind that I don’t know when that day will be.

Blessings!

Carla

3 Responses to “NO REGRETS”

  1. menopausemama said

    You’re right Carla. We never know how much time we have so it’s important to make sure you listen to God’s voice as He speaks to your purpose and then, more importantly, HEED THE CALL. That’s where many of us fail daily (including me).

    Great post! And I will lift up a prayer for the Jones family.

  2. You know I have had this urgency to get things done and in order. Not that I think something is going to happen to me but because I beleive that God wants me to do the work at hand without stuff in the way. I don’t know when my time will come but I do know that we always need to be doing the work of God until He says stop.

  3. […] Everything There is a Season”), and the other of Mrs. Jones (read my blog post “No Regrets”) who is part of my husband’s family.  All very sad.  My prayers remain with the Sears and […]

Leave a Reply

 
