Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Life Saving!

Posted by hashiki on October 9, 2008

I would like to share some thoughts of songs that I must have saved me at one time or another.  Songs that have blessed me.  Songs that God allowed me to hear at the perfect time, at the right time, when I may have been at a very low point, or simply songs that answered and addressed questions and issues that may have been going through my mind.

See, I love music.  My entire life has been surrounded by music in some way.  Over the years, I have come to realize that even through music and songs, God speaks to me. 

I recall that in November, as I was physically struggling because I was being so stressed out from my job, one unassuming night God allowed me to hear a song for the first time that blessed me tremendously.  Immediately, the stress headache I had disappeared.  I felt better.  All because the song and the words spoke to me as they ministered to me.  Answering questions I had.  Clarified thoughts that I’d struggled with.  It was as though the song knew exactly what I was thinking and feeling at that exact time.  This is definitely a song that I say saved my life.  I’d reached a point where I thought that I would never accomplish my dreams.  That night, this is the song that God allowed to play at the perfect time for me.

HOLD ON (TO YOUR DREAMS) – by Yolanda Adams

So fitting and perfect in every way.  Besides, Yolanda is my absolute favorite artist. I have so many of her CD’s.  I love her so much. 

Other songs that have touched, blessed, and saved me are:

NEVER WOULD HAVE MADE IT (WITHOUT YOU) – Pastor Marvin Sapp

I NEED YOU NOW – Pastor Smokie Nordvoll

MY DESTINY – Stephen Hurd (excellent praise and worship CD)

THERE’S HOPE – India Arie (probably misspelled last name)

(most recently) – IT AINT OVER (UNTIL GOD SAYS IT’S OVER) 

http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=55bd15ee658741aa070b

GOD IS KEEPING ME – Mississippi Mass Choir (I absolutely love them!)

What songs can you say have been life saving for you?

2 Responses to “Life Saving!”

  1. Chrissell Rhone said

    For the Good of Them & Rest for the Weary — Milton Brunson and the Thompson Community Singers

  2. Oh…there are so many songs that have touched my life. There is a song called “In His Hands” and “Hiding Place” that got me through some tough times. “Shout” and “Amazing Grace, my chains are gone” both help to uplift me.

    Thanks for doing a blog on this, I think it will relate to a lot of people 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
