Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

MY TIFFY WIFFY

Posted by hashiki on October 8, 2008

Carla holding Tiffy Wiffy - son Jerry Jr. by hand

Carla holding Tiffy Wiffy - son Jerry Jr. by hand

Well, that’s what I lovingly call my daughter Tiffanie.  Yep, she’s my Tiffy Wiffy.  Many of you have known me all of my life, or all of your life. Some of you knew me before Tiff was born.  Some met me when Tiff was a baby/young child – in daycare – with that round face, 3 pony tails and ribbons,  and always smiling.  Now, my baby is 21, will be 22 on January 1st.  I am extremely proud of her and love the woman that she has grown up to be.

 
She called me last night and we talked about a number of things.  We talk every day anyway, but last night  she nonchantly mentioned that she’d completed and submitted her application for graduation.  She went on talking about other stuff and I was in tears.  I then said, “wait….back up….!!!”  I needed her to say once more that she submitted her paperwork for graduation.  And I was like, “oh my, I wish I was there to take a picture of you doing so!”  Of course she laughed and couldn’t figure out why I would want that. But she’s not surprised because I do things like that.   
 
I know that I am not the only person, or the first person, who has a child graduating from college.  I know that my Tiffy Wiffy isn’t the first, nor will she be the last.  But, you know what?  She’s MINE.  I can and have rejoiced sincerely with others over their children’s accomplishments, and I’m so happy for them.  But it’s a whole ‘nother feeling and a different level of emotion to feel it myself.  You just don’t know how that gripped me.
I’m so proud of my Tiffy Wiffy.  We, as a family, have been through so much, so Tiff have had to overcome many obstacles.  When she graduated from high school in May of 2005, her father and I were just getting to the point of reconciling after an 18-month period of separation.  So, her entire senior year of high school was somewhat unstable and tumultous.  But, she endured, overcame, and achieved nonetheless. 
Tiffy Wiffy - age 5

Tiffy Wiffy - age 5

Then, just a few months later, August 29, 2005 brought Hurricane Katrina.  Tiff had just begun her college career.  She had only about a week and a half of classes at Dillard University, the college she always dreamed of attending.  A wonderful HBCU with familial heritage and legacy.  The hurricane came and wreaked havoc to that plan.  Our lives were turned topsy turvey, yet Tiff was able to maintain a strong resiliance to her dedication to thrive in college.  She is a Psychology major, and even some relatives have tried to discourage her from following that major.  They didn’t feel that she could succeed in that field and they underestimated her (much to my disgust and anger).  But Tiff stood her ground because she knew that this is what she wanted to at least explore.  I think it’s terrible to tell someone that you may feel that they can’t do something.  But, that’s another blog for another time.

I’m so proud of my Tiffy Wiffy.  The circumstances of our lives brought us to a rough period.  Losing our home and our lives, we found ourselves in another area.  A new town.  A new location.  A new way of life.  A huge era of adjustment for all of us.  But, Tiffy Wiffy endured.  We enrolled her in school not long after our relocation.  It was another HBCU, and Tiff only attended one year, her Freshman year, there because she did not like the school.  I don’t know if it was the timing, but she felt that she could not click and do well there. 
She decided to attend another school, which meant that she would be a little distance away from us.  Of course for me, I didn’t want to let her go, but knew that I must in order for her to thrive and achieve the great education that she desired, and so deserves.  She has continually done well (even at the school she transferred from) receiving honors such as being on the Dean’s List and receiving academic awards.
My Tiffy Wiffy has always worked diligently.  I admire that about her.  And she loves her chosen major.  Ultimately, it is an area that will allow her to help others in a positive way.  She is already starting the process to enter graduate school in the Fall.  I can’t say enough how proud I am of her.
Tiffy Wiffy - high school graduation - 2005

Tiffy Wiffy - high school graduation - 2005

So here we are.  My baby girl is preparing for her college graduation.  It really does seem like only yesterday I brought her home from the hospital.  I thank God for allowing me and blessing me with the honor to be her mother. 


Carla Y. Nix
By Faith in 2008
2 Corinthians 5:7 “For we walk by faith, not by sight.”
Follow me on twitter – http://www.twitter.com/carlanix
http://www.speaklife.ning.com
http://www.sisters4jesus.ning.com
http://www.carlaynix.wordpress.com (blog)
http://www.snapvine.com/carlanix (voice blogs/podcasts)
http://www.freewebs.com/passion4life
http://www.myspace.com/carlanix
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/passion4life (Listen to my talk radio show)

7 Responses to “MY TIFFY WIFFY”

  1. Awwww…Moms have ALL the fun! I can’t wait LOL. You should be very proud -She should be very proud. You are a great Mom even to those who are not your natural children.

  2. John Gilmore said

    This just beautiful!!! I’m so happy for all of you. What a wonderful, wonderful story!!!!

  3. Karen Swim said

    Congratulations to you and Tiffanie! I celebrate with you and am so thankful you shared the joy!

  4. Tracia Holland said

    I can understand 100% what you mean. My daughter Allison is graduating from High School this year. I’m SO emotional. It seems as if yesterday she was a little girl running around with her ponytails!!!! They grow up SO fast!!!

  5. Kevina World said

    They do grow so fast….She’s Beautiflul!!!

  6. Hilda said

    Time has gone by so fast. I can’t believe that she’s 21. She a beautiful
    young lady. Congratulations for a job well done. The apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree.

  7. Carla – where has the time gone!! I’m proud with you! It only seems like yesterday when you shared her graduation picture. Tell Tiff I said “Go on with her BAD self!”

    Yes, as our children progress through life, it’s a blessing to feel the pride and know that you’ve done a good job raising them. It’s a humbling feeling to recognize the greatness over which God entrusted you…it’s a blessed feeling to realize that God trusted you enough to train them up in the way they should go!!

    I am nearing the day when my own daughter will graduate high school and go to college. I’m excitedly anticipating her future with and for her. I am affirmed that she’s well equipped to reach her goals and “go on with her BAD self…”

    Thank you for that MOM MOMENT…I celebrate YOU because she’s a reflection of you!

    Daphne

Leave a Reply

 
