Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Life Interrupted

Posted by hashiki on August 31, 2008

Hurricane Katrina was a huge interruption in my life, and the lives of thousands.  Three years later, I realize that we are faced with yet another interruption.  Hurricane Gustav. 

Although I no longer live in New Orleans (thanks to Katrina), my heart is still there because New Orleans is home.  I also have family members and friends who returned to New Orleans after Katrina.  I am happy that they are evacuating, but my heart aches with theirs as they have all said again, “Here we go again!”  Some have even questioned their ability to be able to endure and to go through this life interruption yet again.

I am approximately 160 miles away from New Orleans, yet I am as anxious as anyone who still live there.  I am on pins and needles as news report show that Gustav is a huge storm and is growing bigger and stronger by the hour, with eyes focused on New Orleans.  I don’t want to see my city demolished again. 

If Hurricane Gustav wreaks havoc for New Orleans again, I have to wonder about its future existence.  Things changed drastically after Katrina in the The Crescent City.  I’m afraid that another blow could possibly be the demise of the city.  Many are saying that they are not sure if they’ll return if things go badly yet again. 

Here it is, 3:42 am Sunday morning and I have not been to sleep.  I can’t sleep.  In fact, I haven’t even eaten much because I don’t have a appetite.  I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of Michael (my brother) and his family.  Thank God they have decided to evacuate from Biloxi.  I pray for the safety of my other family and friends.

Dealing with Katrina was heavy!  I can say that as much as I would like to think I have, I must be real with myself and recognize that I have yet to “get over it!” (as so many say we should).  Three years later and it feels as though it was only yesterday that we met Katrina.  Emotionally, it has taken its toll.

I can’t help but wonder what will happen now with Hurricane Gustav making its way to interrupt our lives again.  Shucks, I’d even forgotten that Monday is Labor Day.  A holiday.  It doesn’t feel like it.  It’s hard to concentrate on anything other than Gustav.  And when thoughts of Katrina come to play, the tears begin to flow just thinking about all we’ve been through.

Sigh!  This is a shame……I need to get myself to bed!

Carla

3 Responses to “Life Interrupted”

  1. Byron Johnson said

    Sis, my heart goes out to you and everyone down there. Just spoke with my sons and they said they are actually afraid this time! I’m getting ready to call them again. I will call you later today.

  2. Iyabo said

    My heart goes out to you. I follow you on Twitter and I have noticed many other people on twitter expressing sentiments exactly as you have.

    Thank you for putting it out there for us that did not go through Katrina, there is a lot to learn.

    On Twitter, I offered to do some complimentary coaching this week to Katrina overcomers. I know right now, you may not feel like one. But you are. You still have your faith and if you look at it really closely you could rewrite your story and see see that although you did not enjoy going through Katrina, and it appears that you lost a lot, you have gained a lot as well.

    Did you have your own radio show before Katrina? How did Katrina affect your testimony? Did you reach out to people like you reach out to them now?

    May God Richly Bless you as you continue to live in triumph and victory in Jesus name.

    Iyabo Asani
    http://www.AuthenticChangeAgent.com

  3. hashiki said

    Iyabo – I know that your questions are rhetorical, but I just have to respond. You’re absolutely correct! Although I was on the brink of doing what I’m doing now, it was Katrina that pushed me over to work and walk in the purpose that God has etched out for me. It took a hurricane to kick me in my pants and get me going. God was preparing me long before Katrina and when it all “hit the fan”, I knew that it was time.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful and kind words. You have no idea how soothing they are.

    I look forward to seeing you on Twitter, and I thank you for following me.

    Blessings!

    Carla

Leave a Reply

 
