Carla Y. Nix

Walking In My Purpose

Home From the Hospital – and Hurricane Gustav

Posted by hashiki on August 30, 2008

Just following up and letting you know.  I’m home from the hospital.  The doctor sent me from his office straight to the ER on Tuesday to be admitted.

 
Got home last night.
 
It’s so good to be back home.
 
Good news is that I will be okay.  They ran tests on my heart to see why the pain, racing, and palpitations.  There is no heart damage nor blockage, at least according to the stress test.  The EKG, however, does show irregularity in my heart beats.  Skipping beats.  The cardiologist says that’s possibly why I’m feeling the palpitations. 
 
During the stress test (I didn’t do very well), the only real concern was that my blood pressure soared so high. 
 
Overall, they raised the dosage of my bp medication.  My symptoms are more “environmental”, they told me.  I need to take better care of myself, of course, but most of all, I’m told to de-stress!  I’m stressed out and it’s manifesting physically (the pain is my chest, radiates to my shoulder, upper back, neck, and sometimes my arm).  The racing heart, again, stress.
 
I didn’t realize that I was holding so much in and on me.  I honestly try not to.
 
I’m home now, thank God, yet I’m still trying to relax.  I’m concerned now about my family and good friend in New Orleans, also my brother Michael in Biloxi.  I woke up to the news that Hurricane Gustav was at a Category 3, and it hadn’t even made it in the Gulf waters yet.  Just got a news alert here as I type that Gustav is now at Category 4.  I’ve been talking to my family and everyone, accept Michael, is packing and leaving.  We all sort of sighed and cried in a sense, and all said, “here we go again!”.  You know that Hurricane Katrina’s 3rd year anniversary was yesterday.  It’s amazing how much pressure and anxiety I felt as we approached yesterday.  Didn’t have much time to think about it yesterday, as I was simply concerned about my family getting out.  My house is opened for them to come here, and I let them know that.  I don’t know who will come, but I’m glad that I’m here so that they have somewhere to go and they don’t have to spend money on hotels and fast food.  Jerry went to get my medicine this morning and he had to get on the interstate to get there.  Wow!  Folks are already evacuating and the traffic was congested.  At the drug store, he also ran into someone from New Orleans he knew – hadn’t seen them since before Katrina.  That person had evacuated after Katrina and he and his family finally moved back last year.  I spoke to my friend on the phone this morning, she just returned back home a few months ago (rebuilt her house).  She was quite panicky and upset as we spoke.  Just plain scared!  They’re pulling out in the morning, but I really think that they need to do so before that because we well remember how difficult it was as we drove out for Katrina.
 
Michael in Biloxi is being very calm and too nonchalant, in my opinion.  He really doesn’t want to leave.  My concern is that Biloxi IS right on the Gulf of Mexico where Gustav is headed.  Even if their city don’t get a hit, they will still be affected with heavy winds and rain.
 
Please keep my family and friends in prayer.
 
Okay……I’m going to take deep breaths and try to release all of this.  We are preparing here for my family to come if they choose to. 
 
By the way, since Thursday, the gas stations here have been running out of gas.  Folks are gearing up because we remember how it was with Katrina.  No gas!!!!  And then, when it became available, of course the prices were high, but everyone was trying to get it and you had to wait in line for hours!  So, they’re filling up now.  And people are stocking up with gas to run their generators if needed.  We lost power here for an entire week during Katrina.
 
Whew…….anyway…….here we go again!
 
Carla
2 Responses to “Home From the Hospital – and Hurricane Gustav”

  1. Nice site. Theres some good information on here. Ill be checking back regularly.

  2. cookieaisle said

    I will keep you in prayer Carla! We have to be careful about the stress factors we place on ourselves – I’m included in that pack too. I know with all that’s going on this weekend it will be hard to rest, but I pray when you do have a moment to sit – just soak in God’s peace.

    And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7

    Blessings,

    Ty

Leave a Reply

 
